Go Back   Horror.com Forums - Talk about horror. > Horror Movie Discussion > Foreign Horror Movies
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Old 08-21-2007, 08:26 AM
Scares Little Kids

Where to start?

Hey, I'm new to Japanese horror and I was wondering where would be an ideal place to start. I like the storylines that go with 'The Eye', 'Audition', and 'One Missed Call.' Would they be good films to start off with. I'm also keen to see Ju-On:The Grudge, Ringu and Dark Water because Ive seen the remakes.

Also one last question, are Japanese Horror films more gory and disturbing then American Horror?
Old 08-21-2007, 09:19 AM
Evil Puppy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan22 View Post
Hey, I'm new to Japanese horror and I was wondering where would be an ideal place to start. I like the storylines that go with 'The Eye', 'Audition', and 'One Missed Call.' Would they be good films to start off with. I'm also keen to see Ju-On:The Grudge, Ringu and Dark Water because Ive seen the remakes.

Also one last question, are Japanese Horror films more gory and disturbing then American Horror?

Japanese films, like American films, vary from the gory and disgusting to the subtle and creepy. What are your five favorite horror films? I can't recommend a starting point without knowing what you like.
Old 08-22-2007, 02:15 AM
Scares Little Kids

I can't really say my top 5 horrors yet, I don't think I've seen enough. But I liked; The Descent, Halloween, Halloween 2, Scream 1&2, Black Christmas. Don't know if that's any help.
Old 08-22-2007, 11:58 AM
No, fuck YOU

Quote:
I can't really say my top 5 horrors yet, I don't think I've seen enough. But I liked; The Descent, Halloween, Halloween 2, Scream 1&2, Black Christmas. Don't know if that's any help.

Not a lot of Asian slasher movies out there...

But..... "Evil dead trap" 1 & 2.

And give "Ichi the killer" a try. ;) Not slasher, but it's gory as hell.
Old 08-22-2007, 12:46 PM
Evil Dead