Old 09-10-2004, 12:28 PM
Fear scented candle

Angry Vent!

Okay...... Why is it that the DUMBEST fucking people are always in charge?

I am working on this project at work, I am a programmer/web designer. I am making a big web site/application that will clear up years of confusion, complaints, and really bad procedure once and for all.

to put it in layman's terms:

Pretend i am building a car. this car will drive you to where you need to go, doesnt need fuel, and customizes itself automatically to fit the person that is using it with minimal input on their part.

Now imagine the person heading up the project is not even my boss.

now imagine that 90% of the stuff the car is supposed to do, it does, and i did it ALL by myself.

Okay, so we have a phone meeting where everyone is talking about what the car does. say part of the 10% that isnt finished yet is the self-locking doors.

The project lead asks if the doors will lock themselves.

I say yes.

Hes asks if they lock themselves now.

I say not yet.

"Hey, the doors arent locking themselves"
"they dont do that yet...."
"Oh, Will they?"
"Yes"

this EXACT conversation repeats 3 fucking times!!!!!

Now, imagine after that, it eventually comes up that they would like the rims a little thicker. i say it can be done, easily, but not right now, its not a big deal, yes the wheels will fit, no matter what.

Although there are MAJOR fucking things in the car that are in 100% working order, he doesnt leave the fucking rims alone, and in fact goes back to the subject 5 or 6 times..... So i eventually say fuck it, and change the rims on the fucking spot.

"Look again, i changed it."
"Cool. Will the tires all fit?"

right about this time, i am sitting at my desk with my head in my hand, wondering if i would get fired if i told him to fuck off and wait until the whole project is done before looking at it again.