Go Back   Horror.com Forums - Talk about horror. > Horror.com Lobby > New Member Lounge
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Old 12-27-2011, 05:13 PM
Little Boo

Hexakosioihexekontahexaphobia

Hello everyone.

I'm new here, and I'd like to introduce myself.

As my user name indicates, my name is Mike.

I'm 52 years old.

The horror movies I remember best stared Lon Cheney, Bela Lugosi, and Boris Karloff.

I have a bachelor's degree in behavioral science, and I'm doing research on Hexakosioihexekontahexaphobia (the fear of the number 666.)

I would like to know (from the experts here) if "The Omen"" was the first horror film to dramatize this number as in any way evil, associated with the devil, or unlucky.

The quality, or popularity of any earlier films is of no interest to me.

I believe "The Omen" was first released in 1976.

Does anyone know of any earlier films (B horror movies, popular movies, T.V. movies, comedies, avant gard films, or "Christian" films) where this number appeared in a frightening or ominous context?

P.S. Rosemary's Baby, Fear No Evil, and Crowhaven Farm have all been mentioned as possibilities (but I'm fairly certain Rosemary's Baby contains no direct reference to this number, and I can find no evidence that the other two did.)

Last edited by MichaelG; 12-27-2011 at 05:50 PM.
Old 12-28-2011, 01:58 AM
Whip In My Valise

Oh, now I get it. You're trying to ask the same question 666 times.;)
Old 12-28-2011, 11:30 AM
Little Boo

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWickerFan View Post
Oh, now I get it. You're trying to ask the same question 666 times.;)
No, but does anyone know the answer?

My research indicates Hexakosioihexekontahexaphobia was fairly common (even among patients of Catholic and mainstream Protestant backgrounds) prior to 1976, and it seems to me that there must have been triggers in popular culture.

Does anyone know when it first appeared in the movies?