PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Evil Dead

deamonfruba
08-18-2013, 10:09 PM
**I'm thinking about how to ask this question and not be seen as a troll. I swear, I'm not. I'm just legitimately curious.**

I'm not a newbie to horror. Growing up, I wasn't allowed to watch anything rated beyond PG-13 but once I hit college, I started absorbing movies at an alarming rate. A few years have passed and I've slowed down a bit as my appreciation has grown and now I'm trying to build up my understanding of the horror "canon" from Friday the 13th to Bela Lugosi films. I watched "The Evil Dead" a while back and very much enjoyed it but only tonight sat down for what was supposed to be a marathon of all three original movies. I didn't make it past the first 30 minutes of the third and I doubt I ever will because I was a bit too annoyed. This is where my questions come in.

My first problem was the inconsistent story line. I understand the disparity between I and II: Sam Raimi couldn't get through the red tape and get footage of his original film. I stumbled a bit but decided to go with Ash being insane and an unreliable narrator, which could have been really fun to see played out. (I'm disappointed that I didn't see THAT film but Raimi does not exist to serve my odd whims.) But then the second film was just BORING. It had been built up in my mind as this amazing piece of iconic horror when really nothing very new or interesting happened. The gore was so-so, the laughs were pretty dull (except when Ash starts dancing with the lamp - that was great), and the characters were flat. The main chick didn't even seem to give a crap that her father, mother, and husband/boyfriend/whatever were brutally killed and dragged to hell. Then, film III begins with yet another plot shift and I've lost any sense of WHY.