PDA

View Full Version : screenplay format

g star
07-27-2005, 01:43 PM
i wrote my most recent screenplay in a program called "celtx" that i actually believe i found in this forum somewhere. anyway, i'd like to be able to send it to people for critique and suggestions but whenever i try to paste it into another program (i.e. word) i lose the format. character names, scene descriptions and dialogue all move to the far left of the screen. does anybody know how i can share my work with others without losing the format? i'm definitely don't want to print out two dozen copies and snail mail them.

g star
07-27-2005, 01:47 PM
Originally posted by g star
i'm definitely don't want to print out two dozen copies and snail mail them.

correction: I definitely don't want.....

sorry, as a writer i'm kind of anal about grammer and if i didn't correct that it would drive me nuts all the way to the grave. now that i've said that, feel free to flame me for saying i'm anal about grammar meanwhile i never use capital letters. there's nothing worse than a hypocrite.

anyway, about my screenplay format question......

Little Angel
07-30-2005, 04:22 AM
G-Star,

I don't know about celtx, but if you give me more information, I can try to help you out.

Can you make a .pdf file from that software? Certain platforms allow .pdf creation as a default printer output. This option will (should?) retain your formatting and protect your data by making it a little more difficult to edit.

If you are serious about your work and have a credit card and a couple of bucks, you might want to register the script with the writer's guild <http://www.wga.org/>. Follow the links from the main page.

If you are using MS Word is your main piece of software, I can try to get some Word templates to you that might make it easier. You may lose your formatting, but once in Word you'd be able to reformat quickly with style-sheets.

Hope this is helpful...

g star
07-30-2005, 04:33 PM
L.A.